top of page

Tying the Craw Father

It’s said that up to 80% of a smallmouth’s diet is crawfish. I know that seems insane, but I don’t think I can deny that because of how well craw flies work on smallies here in the Ozarks. I’d make a guess that smallmouth are the most sought-after game fish on the rivers in the Ozarks, so the number of smallmouth flies I’ve come across or tied myself is innumerable.

 

Zac, being an insanely good streamer and crawfish tyer, sat down to create an articulated craw pattern that would have action different enough that the overfished smallmouth around our local rivers haven’t seen anything like it. Here it is, the Craw Father!




Recipe:

Hook: Size 4 streamer hook, XL shank

Shank: 20mm articulation shank

Claws: Standard size rabbit zonker strips

Underbody: Ice dub or polar chenille

Body:

-     3 inch tarantula hair on hook.

-     1.5 inch tarantula hair on the articulation shank

Head:

-     Sili Legs

-     Fish Skull Sculping head

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page