top of page

What We're All About

Updated: Nov 13, 2023

Fly Fishing has had an effect on all of our lives. Otherwise, you probably wouldn’t be reading this post! I originally started Finley Fly Co. as a way to sell flies and maybe work my way out of my day job. What I found was that with a child and family, providing consistent benefits and income were a top priority.


I started with an Etsy page. Something simple to sell my flies. I had postings up for three weeks with zero purchases. To say that I was disappointed is an understatement, but I could also understand the hesitancy with purchasing from a new company with no reviews on their page yet. Eventually, I sold a dozen scuds to a dude in Colorado. I was on the board! What happened next was a snowball of orders building on top of each other so quickly that I wasn’t able to keep up. Well, I could keep up, but it was at the expense of spending time with my family. I’d have to stay up late to complete orders or stay home when they went out so I could tie. After looking at the profits I was bringing in, I realized even with doing it full time it wouldn’t provide enough to make that time away worth it. I felt discouraged and eventually abandoned the idea of Finley Fly Co. That’s when my buddy Zac entered.


Zac and I went to high school together and were close friends. We shared a passion for all things sports and outdoors and would fish together a lot. Recently, after a day of fishing, we talked about what we wanted to get out of the outdoors and he brought up content creation. I’m a big fan of photography and videography so I let that conversation settle and the wheels started to turn that night. I texted him the next day with the idea that he hop on board with Finley Fly Co. and he was all in.

So here’s where we stand: We’re here to have fun. We’re here to share our fun with you. We want to post relatable content with other fly fisherman who don’t take themselves too seriously. We want to help you learn to tie flies and catch fish. We want to provide videos that make you laugh and help you learn at the same time. And who knows what the future holds from there!


We hope that you join us and have some fun along the way, too!


- Casey

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page